CIfA Governance: Board of Directors and Advisory Council

The Institute is a democratic membership organisation and is governed by its Royal Charter and by-laws. The Board of Directors is responsible for managing the affairs of CIfA in accordance with the Charter, by-law and regulations, with the day to day running of CIfA carried out by the staff. The Advisory Council represents the interests of the membership and offer thoughtful and detailed advice to the Board of Directors on policy, strategy and potentially controversial decisions.

In October of each year the CIfA holds an AGM. Recent Annual Reports can be found on our Publications pages

The Board is supported by two decision making committees responsible for applications for individual accreditation or Registered Organisations status. See our committees page for more information.

CIfA has a Conflict of interest policy and members of the Board of Directors and Advisory Council are asked, on an annual basis, to declare their interests, or the interests of an employer, associate, family member or close personal contact. These should include perceived as well as actual conflicts of interest. Details of conflicts of interest are kept on a central Register

The Board of Directors usually meets six times per year, and in addition Board members will be invited to attend meetings of the Advisory Council. Meeting minutes are available on the members section of the website.

The current Board members are:

  • Stephen Carter (Chair)
  • Dave Bolton (Treasurer)
  • Dan Slatcher
  • Paul Belford
  • Paul Spoerry
  • Pete Hinton
  • Alex Llewellyn
  • Melanie Johnson
  • Peta Glew
  • Esther Robinson Wild
  • Deborah Seddon (Lay Director)
  • Ann Bevitt (Lay Director)

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council has up to 40 members, 20 of which are elected by the membership and up to 20 filled by representatives from each individual special interest or area group.

Elected positions are for a three-year period with the option of standing for a further three-year term. Nominated representatives from Groups are for a one-year period. The Advisory Council usually meets three times a year (timings of these are to be decided) and will invite members of the Board of Directors to attend. Meeting minutes are available on the members section of the website.

The current Advisory Council members are:

Elected representatives

  • Andy Holland (Chair)
  • Cat Gibbs (vice chair)
  • Kayt Hawkins
  • Stuart Prior
  • Matt Parker Wooding
  • Colin Forrestal
  • Sadie Watson
  • Rob Wiseman
  • Chris Clarke
  • Helen Parslow
  • Jim Brightman
  • Mark Anderson
  • Gemma Ward
  • Steve Trow
  • Neil Redfern
  • Kevin Mooney

Group representatives

  • Lucy Parker (Geophysics)
  • Hannah Cobb (Equality and Diversity)
  • Gary Duckers (Information Management)
  • Paul Riccoboni (Diggers' Forum)
  • Judith Doyle (Wales/Cymru)
  • Alexandria Young (Forensic)
  • Sam Fox (Scottish Group)
  • Peter Clark (International Practice)
  • Rowena Hart (Finds Group)
  • Steve Baker (Archives)
  • Daniel Jackson (Project Management)
  • Christina Reade (London)
  • Andy Howard and Rebecca Nicholson (Research and Impact)
  • Toby Gane (Maritime Affairs)
  • Dan Miles (Voluntary and Community)
  • Michaela Schauer (Deutschland)
  • Sharon Clough (Human Osteoarchaeology)
    (Vacancy for New Generation)
    (Vacancy for Buildings)
    (Vacancy for GAG)

Co-opted representatives

  • Hannah Kennedy
  • Roger Thomas
  • Sam Paul
  • Alex Farnell